J2 or J3 transfer in IVF / ICSI

When IVF provides many embryos, it is legitimate to expect J3 before relocating to select the best, or to push the culture of blastocysts to transfer the highest quality.

But if the embryos are few and do not warrant a selection, a study in “Fertility & Sterility” May states that the transfer to J2 regardless of embryo quality increases the chances of pregnancy in women under 40 years.

It establishes and “the date of transfer is a significant predictor of clinical outcome in cases where a small number of embryos available for transfer. Evidence suggests that limiting embryo culture only 2 days reduces the miscarriage and increases the pregnancy rate continued.”

This study echoes another issued in 2004 which had focused on the results of 2027 women. It was shown that transfer to D3 increased the clinical pregnancy rate in ICSI cycles but that the rate of miscarriage is not possible to increase correspondingly the rate of live births.

The extracts (English)

Day 2 transfer improves pregnancy outcome in in vitro fertilization cycles with few available embryos.” by Shen s , Rosen MP, Dobson AT, Fujimoto VY, McCulloch CE, Cedars MI. Fertility & Sterility, 2006. doi:10.1016/j.fertnstert.2005.12.020

Oatway C, Gunby J, Daya S. Day three versus day two embryo transfer following in vitro fertilization or intracytoplasmic sperm injection. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2004, Issue 2. Type. No.: CD004378. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD004378.pub2.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

You know anyone who may be affected by this article ? Remember to share !

2 Comments:

  1. Interesting this article, but reimplantation j2 or j3 for a woman over 40 years, is it really interesting?? My center offers no alternative but IVF ICSI j2 or j3, already after 3 chess, I doubt that the Fiv 4 can function…

    • This is an option to discuss with your doctor.
      One of mine was the transfer of nuclei pro, confirmed after fertilization and before the first division (11h after puncture…)
      My other gyno does not believe.
      And I have a copinante who had her babies yet and while it did not work before.
      All that to say that it is important to contact your doctor to make this last attempt confidence…
      And an attempt, it can also prepare ! With the supply, healthy living… A fortiori the last.
      Courage ! Your doctor believes !

Leave a Reply

Transfert à J2 ou J3 en FIV/ICSI

Lorsqu’une FIV permet d’obtenir de nombreux embryons, il est légitime d’attendre J3 avant la réimplantation pour sélectionner les plus beaux, voire de pousser la culture pour transférer des blastocytes de la meilleure qualité possible.

Mais dans le cas où les embryons sont peu nombreux et ne justifient pas une sélection, une étude parue dans « Fertility & Sterility » de Mai établit que le transfert à J2 sans tenir compte de la qualité embryonnaire augmente les chances de grossesse chez la femme de moins de 40 ans.

Elle établit ainsi que « le jour du transfert est un indice significatif du résultat clinique dans les cas où un faible nombre d’embryons est disponible pour le transfert. L’évidence suggère que limiter la culture des embryons à seulement 2 jours réduit les fausses couches et augmente le taux de grossesses poursuivies. »

Cette étude fait écho à une autre publiée en 2004 qui avait porté sur les résultats de 2027 femmes. Celle-ci avait démontré qu’un transfert à J3 augmentait le taux de grossesses cliniques sur les cycles ICSI mais que le taux de fausses couches ne permettait pas d’augmenter corrélativement le taux de naissances vivantes.

Les extraits (en anglais)

« Day 2 transfer improves pregnancy outcome in in vitro fertilization cycles with few available embryos. » par Shen s , Rosen MP, Dobson AT, Fujimoto VY, McCulloch CE, Cedars MI. Fertility & Sterility,  2006. doi:10.1016/j.fertnstert.2005.12.020

Oatway C, Gunby J, Daya S. Day three versus day two embryo transfer following in vitro fertilization or intracytoplasmic sperm injection. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2004, Issue 2. Art. No.: CD004378. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD004378.pub2.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Vous connaissez des personnes qui peuvent être concernées par cet article ? Pensez à le partager !

Recherche utilisée pour trouver cet article :

transfert embryo j2

2 commentaires

  1. Interessant cet article, mais une réimplantation à j2 ou j3 pour une femme de plus de 40 ans, est-ce réellement intéressant?? Mon centre ne propose aucune autre alternative que Fiv icsi j2 ou j3, après déjà 3 échecs, je doute que la Fiv 4 puisse fonctionner…

    • C’est une option a discuter avec votre médecin.
      L’un des mien faisait des transferts de pro nucléi, après fécondation confirmée et avant la 1ère division (11h après ponction…)
      Mon autre gyneco n’y croit pas.
      Et j’ai une copinante qui a pourtant eu ses bébés ainsi alors que ça n’avait pas marche avant.
      Tout ça pour vous dire qu’il est important de communiquer avec votre médecin pour faire cette dernière tentative en confiance…
      Et une tentative, ça peut aussi se préparer ! Avec l’alimentation, l’hygiène de vie… A fortiori la dernière.
      Courage ! Votre médecin y croit !

Laisser un commentaire